Becoming a member

Posted on
Page
of 23
  • Hi Martine

I am a beginner cyclist and wanted to come along for a trial ride this Sunday, is that OK?

Many thanks

Joe

• Can you give me a bit more info (speed, longest distance so far etc), for me to give some advise on which ride?

• Hmm, longest distance was about 70 miles last year (Winchester to Brighton), speed was pretty slow, we didn't really measure it unfortunately, it was very much a leisure ride

• Would you be comfortable with a 50 mile route on Sunday? C-rides can vary between 40-60 miles.

Maybe best to start with 8am Regents Park session (Saturday), start with the slowest group and see how it goes (get an idea of speed, I can't judge 'pretty slow', and build up from there. And sign up for the intro-ride in September for the group riding skills.

• Great (2nd) ride this morning with the C group - I'm sold!
    What's the process for signing up to the club, paying, getting a jersey etc?
    Thanks!

• Fab! Welcome! If you go to our main page - islington.cc - there is a link to our British Cycling page where you can join. Details on how tou pick up jerseys etc will be sent through once you join. If you strugle, post here and I will try and find the direct link for you.

Thanks, Orestis

• Sorted, thanks Orestis

• Hello,
    Just wondering if it would be ok to join the C group Sunday ride this weekend? I'm new and have signed up for the September intro ride but I'd be keen to join a few rides before that if possible. I cycle regularly, normally around 40miles at 15mph but have done a few longer ones recently. Thanks!

• Dear @Sophie , you are more than welcome to join a C-ride on Sunday. We have 2 C rides planned, routes can be found:

http://forum.islington.cc/conversations/­619/?offset=600

• Thanks Martine. I tried to post on the forum but couldn't. The Radlett in reverse looks great. Do you know when and where it sets off from? Thanks